Paleo For PCOS and Infertility

Link

For the past couple years one of my closest friends has been trying to get me to give up grains. She does a lot of research on nutrition and she is a personal trainer. To be honest I thought her suggestion was stupid – if grains were so bad for you why would they even be on the food pyramid? I didn’t understand. However, I gave up most wheat (except for pizza and the occasional beer), because I was having some major stomach issues. It helped a little bit, but overall not enough to keep me from eating them.

Then another friend of mine told me she had started eating paleo and her stomach issues have disappeared. She looked fabulous and from how she was talking she felt great! I decided to give it a shot. In just two weeks I have dropped 5lbs. I have never been able to lose more than 1lb. in a week and that was when I was religiously counting my calories and working out at least 45 minutes a day, 6 days a week.

Ever since high school my weight has been just high enough to be considered overweight. I was never obese and I never considered myself to be fat, but I have always felt that my body didn’t match the amount of effort I put into it to be thinner.

I didn’t start eating paleo to lose weight, so I didn’t even think to track my calories. I just wanted my constant stomach pain and bowel issues to stop. I was willing to try anything (the meds the doctor gave me just weren’t cutting it).

I’ll be honest, I haven’t done any research, aside from recipes. But after the results of these past two weeks and this article I’m sold. In the past two weeks I have had a total of two stomachaches (as opposed to one after every single meal), I am completely off of my meds, my chronic jaw pain miraculously disappeared, and bonus I lost 5lbs.

I will definitely be doing more research, especially with how paleo may help with PCOS (Poly Cystic Ovarian Syndrome – the reason why I am struggling to get pregnant).

I loved this blog entry by Danielle and her battle with PCOS and grains.

http://www.danfredorivera.com/2011/04/battle-of-beige.html

2 thoughts on “Paleo For PCOS and Infertility

  1. I wonder sometimes if the human gene pool has had enough time (~5000 years) to adapt to eating grains. Certainly, the American diet is pushed way way way too far into a bias towards grains because of pressures of big at subsidies for corn and wheat, but I am not sure they need to be eliminated completely. I think we should treat grains as a more minor food group and make fruits and vegetables the very base of there food pyramid. But hey, that’s just the zen in me, I guess. Thanks for sharing your thoughts!
    Cheers,
    D

    • I am inclined to think this way as well, but after going grainless I am convinced that grainless is best for me. I see such a difference in my own body – the way I feel, my energy level, etc., and in such a small amount of time too. If your body can handle grain, more power to you, and more yummy food! Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

