9 Ways to Make The Two-Week Wait A Little More Bearable

Standard

When you are trying to conceive, the two weeks between ovulation and the expected arrival of your period can be excruciating to live through. This is one of those experiences where time does not make it easier to handle. In fact, the more time that passes, the crazier you feel.

I have been quite unfortunate to be diagnosed with Polycystic Ovary Syndrom (PCOS). If you are soul cyster (get it?) like me, you know that one of the symptoms is an irregular period. This means that I never know when I ovulate or if I actually did ovulate that month. This past month my two week wait turned into a four week wait.

Why didn’t I test after two weeks? After 5 years of two week waits and many negative pregnancy tests I know how I personally react to these situations. If I take a test and it’s negative but I still have not been assaulted by my Aunt Flo, I will continue to hope that I am pregnant: “Maybe my HCG hormone levels aren’t high enough to detect yet.” The tests have essentially become a giant money pit for me. So I wait until there is no possible way my Aunt Flo would be coming to visit.

At 12 days late I believed such a thing. There was no way I could get my period. I tested. Received a negative. Next day I got my period. I was crushed. Not only was I not pregnant, but I got my period. Meaning my two week wait time is extended to the length of my latest period, almost 4 weeks. (Biologically my luteal phase is always 12 days, but that means I have to know the day I ovulate to actually calculate my period arrival, which is next to impossible for someone with PCOS without an ultrasound. Women with PCOS will often get false positives on ovulation test sticks that test the Luteinizing Hormone levels in urine. And some months I don’t actually ovulate, so it would be impossible to detect something that will never happen.)

With all that being said, a friend sent me a wonderful article about the two week wait that is ACTUALLY helpful. I can’t tell you how many two week wait articles I have read that gave the worst advice imaginable (keep an eye out for my “Top 10 Worst 2WW Tips”). Without further ramblings, here it is:

9 Ways To Make The Two-Week Wait A Little More Bearable

 

2 thoughts on “9 Ways to Make The Two-Week Wait A Little More Bearable

  1. Sarah

    I almost didn’t want to comment here, because I feel silly doing so as someone who has not personally had the struggle with infertility that you have been going through. But I have heard so much lately about NaPro Technology and then stumbled upon your blog, so I felt called just to check and see just in case- have you heard of it? (http://www.fertilitycare.org/ and http://www.naprotechnology.com) It’s part of the Creighton Model of NFP and there is a doctor at St. Agnes Hospital in Baltimore. Here is her website: http://naturalfertilitycaremd.com/our-team/. PCOS is one of the problems NaPro can sometimes help with. I do apologize if this comment is frustrating to you because you’ve “been there, done that.” I will be praying for you and your husband! God bless!

    • I have heard it, but I have yet to check it out. To be completely honest I totally forgot about it. When I read your comment I literally said “oh yea, I meant to check them out!” Thanks for the welcome information and a well timed reminder!

Leave a Reply

