A Playlist for the Weary

Standard

We all have our bad days, but sometimes we have bad weeks, months, even years. How do we keep going? I ask that question of myself a lot, “How can I possibly keep going?” My answer is always the same, “Follow God.”

That is such a churchy answer. It’s the answer you give when you don’t know the answer. It’s the answer I get from my youth group teens when they tell me what they think I want to hear, instead of the truth. But in this situation it really is the answer, “Follow God”. Although, sometimes I have no idea where God is taking me. Actually, I rarely know where God is taking me.

In those times, like right now, I find myself at a loss for what to pray. I am so confused, sad, worried, fearful, exhausted that I don’t know what to pray for. At times like these I turn to music. I listen to lyrics and pray what is sung. I find peace in the worship and praise of my savior. I find comfort in the truth of his security and protection.

Here are some of the songs I turn to in the hard times. The songs that remind me that God is bigger than whatever I am going through. And some songs that just help me to hold on.

1. “One Time” By Cool Hand Luke

“There are mountains towering ahead. He says to me ‘these are mine, hold my hand you’ll be fine'”

2.“Hallelujah” by Bethany Dillon

“Whatever’s in front me help to sing Hallelujah”

3.“Boldly I Approach” by Rend Collective

“Oh praise the One who fights for me and shields my soul eternally”

4. “Fall Afresh” by Bethel Music

“Spirit of the living God come fall afresh on me, come wake me from my sleep”

5. “Hold On” by The Gospel Whiskey Runners

“You make me lovely just like you….Hold On”

6. “Set a Fire” by Will Reagan & United Pursuit

“No place I would rather be, then here in Your love.”

7.“Nothing Holding Me Back” by Bryan and Katie Torwalt

“Now nothing can hold me back from you, Your love will never let me go”

8. “Your Love is Strong” by Jon Foreman

“So why should I worry? Why do I freak out? God knows what I need. You know what I need.”

9.“To Those Who Wait” by Bethany Dillon

“Lord, today You know what I need to do. But You can do more in my waiting than in my doing I could do.”

10. “Alabaster” By Rend Collective Experiment

“I will bow my life at your feet, at your feet. My lips so lost for words, will kiss your feet, kiss your feet.”

11. “Oh How I Need You” by All Sons and Daughters

“Light, glorious light, I will go where you shine”

12. “In Memoriam” by The Oh Hellos

“You are far to beautiful to want me…                                                  I think I’m far too poor for you to want me…                                          Heaven knows I’m prone to leave the only God I should have loved and yet you are far too beautiful to leave me.”

And finally one to pump me up…

13. “Not Giving In” By Rudimental 

“This time I’m gonna be stronger, I’m not giving in”

Leave a Reply

