13 Lies I Believed

Standard

IMG_6647

Throughout my life I have believed lies told to me. These lies were told to me in the words and actions of the people I interacted with and by things I saw in the world. It doesn’t really matter who told me these lies: whether it was a beauty magazine, my own brain, or a friend; the problem is that I believed the lie. These lies have changed the way I have lived my life. I have been living in fear as a detestable human being unworthy of love. But God is good and has started a new work in me. He is pointing out these lies to me and he has replaced them with his truth. Here are the 13 Lies I believed accompanied by God’s response:

 

1. I am ugly

“So God created mankind in his own image, in the image of God he created them; male and female he created them.” Genesis 10:27

“Let the king be enthralled by your beauty; honor him, for he is your lord.” Psalm 45:10

2. I am alone

“Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.” Joshua 1:9

“For I am the Lord your God who takes hold of your right hand and says to you, ‘Do not fear; I will help you.’” Isaiah 41:13

 

3. I am unforgiveable

“If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.” 1 John 1:9

“Though your sins are like scarlet, I will make them as white as snow.” Isaiah 1:18

4. Evil can harm me

“The Lord will rescue me from every evil attack and save me for his heavenly kingdom. To Him be the glory forever and ever. Amen.” 2 Timothy 4:18

“Submit yourself, then, to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you.” James 4:7

5. Crying is a sign of weakness

“Jesus Wept” John 11:35

“Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted” Matthew 5:4

6. Loving myself is selfish

“’Love the Lord you God with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your strength and with all your mind;’ and ‘love your neighbor as yourself.’” Luke 10:27

7. No one cares

“Cast all your anxiety on Him because He cares for you.” 1 Peter 5:7

“You keep track of all my sorrows. You have collected all my tears in your bottle. You have recorded each one in your book.” Psalm 56:8

8. No one understands

“For we do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses, but one who in every respect has been tempted as we are, yet without sin.” Hebrews 4:15

“Do you not know? Have you not heard? The Lord is the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth. He will not grow tired or weary, and his understanding no one can fathom.” Isaiah 40:28

“Great is our Lord and mighty in power; his understanding has no limit.” Psalm 147:5

9. Perfect physical health will make me happy

“But he said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’ Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong.” 2 Corinthians 12:9-10

10. My life must look the way I want it to for me to be joyful

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart, lean not on your own understanding. In all your ways submit to him and he will make your paths straight.” Proverbs 3:5-6

“He who wants to keep his life will have it taken away from him. He who loses his life because of Me will have it given back to him.” Matthew 10:39

11. I will be broken forever

“And the one sitting on the throne said, ‘Look, I am making everything new!’” Revelation 21:5

“And the God of all grace, who called you to his eternal glory in Christ, after you have suffered a little while, will himself restore you and make you strong, firm, and steadfast.” 1 Peter 5:10

12. I am unworthy

“Do not let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God, trust also in me. In my Father’s house are many rooms; if it were not so, I would have told you. I am going there to prepare a place for you.” John 14:1-2

“But God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” Romans 5:8

13. My emotions are ridiculous

“Rejoice with those who rejoice, weep with those who weep.” Romans 12:15

“A time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance;” Ecclesiastes 3:4

Leave a Reply

