Merry 5 Months Until Christmas!

Standard

ChristmasIt’s July which means I have fasted Christmas music for over 6 months and it’s time to get my fix! Yes, I am that obnoxious person who listens to Christmas music way too early. Don’t worry, I won’t be obsessively listening to Christmas music until after Thanksgiving (or the week before), but I always find myself craving my Christmas tunes right around mid-summer.

Three years ago I stopped hiding my mid-summer Christmas fix, and now I am boldly telling it on the mountain (see what I did there?)! Unfortunately, two weeks before last Christmas my hard drive crashed and I lost all of my Christmas music. I lost all of my other music too, but we are talking about Christmas right now. It doesn’t seem like a big deal to lose all of your Christmas music, because honestly, how much Christmas music can you really own, right? WRONG! You are so wrong! I had tons of Christmas music. I started establishing my collection from the time ‘NSYNC released their Christmas album back in 1998. 

nsync-home-for-christmas

Since then it grew every year in variety and abundance (especially the year I discovered Sufjan Stephens and his multiple Christmas albums). Now, I am at a loss. I must start from square one, which is why it is so important for me to start this now, in July, before November, when I will be listening to Christmas music every day, nonstop until January 1st.

I’m really diggin’ music of the indie/folk variety right now and that is where I will begin rebuilding.  If you are a fellow lover of Christmas in July then check out this fabulous indie/folk Christmas playlist. I would also love to hear your favorite Christmas songs, so if you have suggestions leave comments and help me rebuild my collection. Merry 5 months until Christmas!!

  1. Once In Royal David’s City By Sufjan Stephens 
  1. Go Tell It On the Mountain by Branches 
  1. Xmas Time Is Here Again by My Morning Jacket 
  1. Mvmnt 1: Rejoice! Rejoice! By Oh Hellos 
  1. Darlin’ (Christmas is Coming) by Over the Rhine 
  1. Christmas Time by Noah and the Whale
  1. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen by Peach & the Giant 
  1. No Christmas for Me by Zee Avi
  1. Auld Lang Syne 
  2. I heard the Bells on Christmas Day by The Civil Wars 
  3. White Winter Hymnal – Fleet Foxes 
  4. Men of Snow – Ingrid Michaelson 
  5. Come on Let’s Boogey Elf Dance – Sufjan Stevens 
  6. Oh Little Town of Bethlehem – Stylusboy 
  7. Breaking Up Christmas- Old Crow Medicine Show 
  8. Oh Holy Night – Bombadil 

 

Leave a Reply

