Our Adoption Photo Book

Standard

IMG_4778

Finally…it is complete! If you’ve been following my blog, or if you are friends with me, you know that this has been a huge stress in my life. You may even recall that I wrote a blog about it several months ago. Actually, six months ago to be exact. I have been working on this photo book for over six months! (Here is the link to the blog I wrote about Letting Go and Starting Over)

Six months may seem like a long time. I mean really, don’t you just have to put a couple of photos into a template on snapfish or shutterfly? I wish it were that easy, but alas, it wasn’t, not for me anyway.

I’m pretty sure I searched every single photo book website out there for a template that resembled me and Dean. Nothing seemed to fit. I started five different books on four different sites, but none of them looked like us. Finally, I scrapped the idea of there being a template out there that I could work with and decided to start from scratch.

I started with a blank canvas and worked hard for a month only to hate it just as much as the others. I was getting stuck in my own head trying to appeal to the masses. Trying to be picked instead of trying to show who we are. Once I again I scrapped everything and started over.

This time I stopped thinking about “them” and starting thinking about us. I really wanted to capture who we are as a couple and as individuals. I wanted the expectant parent(s) to see that Dean is adventurous, sporty, compassionate, loving, and a great provider. I wanted them to see that I am crafty, silly, loving, nurturing, and I love to dance. I wanted them to know that, in our lives, Jesus comes first. I didn’t want to pretend to be less religious for fear of scaring anyone off. The expectant parent has a right to know who we really are, and I want someone to choose us to parent their child because they want us, not who we want them to think we are. (In case you’re wondering, I did include the fact that farts make me laugh. Was it tasteless? Maybe, but hey if I was choosing someone else to parent my kid I would definitely want them to think farts are funny. I would also want them to incorporate Harry Potter into my child’s daily life…)

So, after months and months of searching for photos, rewriting text, asking for help, letting go, and starting over, it is finally complete. I have dropped the photo book off at the agency and as soon as our home study is approved we will be ready to be matched.

Before I post it, I want to say thank you to Jessie Patterson Photography for the beautiful photos she took of us. She captured our silly side as well as our loving side and for that I am truly thankful. Jessie is a joy to work with so if you are looking for a photographer check out her site!  http://jessiepattersonphotography.com/

I also want to thank all of our friends and family who sent pictures, wrote us beautiful quotes that captured who we are, and edited the book through it’s many additions. You all are amazing and even if your pictures and quotes didn’t make it into the book, I have treasured them in my heart (and in a keepsake box because sometimes I just need a reminder that I am loved).

Alright, well here it is!

IMG_4782IMG_4780 IMG_4783IMG_4784 IMG_4785IMG_4786 IMG_4787IMG_4788IMG_4789IMG_4790
IMG_4791 IMG_4792I know ALL of you are super excited to read the lengthy descriptions about me and Dean (*wink wink*). But in case you really do want to read the fine print, here are the actual files. You can click on the photos and zoom in and out if you so desire.

If you choose only two pages to read, I recommend the Quirks and Quotes Pages.
Full Cover 2Dear Expectant Parent Page Revised
About UsAbout DeanAbout LizDeans Family RevisedLizs FamilyOur HomeOur Community RevisedMore Quirks and QuotesQuirks andOur PromiseThanks for all the prayers as we prepare to wait for a couple of weeks to 2 years (maybe even 5) for the child that God has planned for us.

3 thoughts on “Our Adoption Photo Book

  1. Hi! I just want to say thank you for sharing your story on your blog. I stumbled upon it after searching something like “letting go of getting pregnant and birth control” because we’ve been trying for 1.5 years and have never had a blip of a positive test. We are considering closing this chapter and moving on to adoption as well. We are also Christians and trust that God will make us parents, but maybe not in the way we expect. Many blessings to you! ~Elizabeth (merciespermile.wordpress.com)

  2. What a beautiful treasure for your future (and present) family! Many of the women in my family are head-over-heels for genealogy, and they would practically die for a beautiful, personal look into the lives of their ancestors like this book that you’ve taken such care to create! This will certainly be a special heirloom. ❤

Leave a Reply

