Adoption Update: It’s A Boy!

Standard

Well, many of you know, and probably most of you figured it out, but…

WE ARE PARENTS!

IT’S A BOY!

HE IS AMAZING!!!

We haven’t posted anything on social media for several reasons:

  1. Everything happened while we were in the middle of our move
  2. For safety reasons we won’t be posting any pictures of the little guy for at least 6 months and to keep myself from posting pictures in my insane excitement, I pretty much had to just not post anything about it at all!
  3. We wanted to spend some time celebrating and cherishing these moments as a little family
  4. We wanted to make sure we knew exactly what we would be and would not be sharing with the world about our little guy.

I know this seems a little over protective, and that’s why I’ve decided to keep writing my blog: to inform those out there who don’t know much about the adoption world a little more about adoption.

As adoptive parents we have agreed not to post any pictures or information about our child’s past until the adoption is finalized (for at least six months). It is for his safety and ours, because we are technically not his legal guardians yet. This also means that we won’t be answering any questions about our son’s birth mother or birth father. We don’t do this to be secretive or because we are in any way ashamed of our son’s beginnings, but simply because that’s HIS story to tell when he is ready. And as he is a child and doesn’t really have an opinion or say at the moment (or even know his story), we want to protect his privacy the best we can.

But here is what we can share with you:

We have named our son Samuel. (“I prayed for this child, and the LORD has granted me what I asked of him.” 1 Samuel 1:27)

He is currently 8lbs and 22 inches long.

He loves to eat and rarely misses a feeding.

He loves walks and being held.

HE IS AMAZING!!!

Thanks again to everyone who has prayed for us, supported us, etc. We are so grateful! There is no doubt in my mind that he is my son, and he was so worth the wait!

I will continue to be sharing my experiences as a woman who still struggles with infertility, and will now include my findings as a mother and an adoptive mother.

5 thoughts on “Adoption Update: It’s A Boy!

Leave a Reply

